Abilene,/ KS

Now: 66 °

Currently: Clear

Hi: 82 ° | Lo: 53 °


Cowboy Wrestling Tops Defending 4A Champion Marysville

Trent SanchezJanuary 31, 2020

The Abilene Cowboy Wrestling team stayed in contention to defend their NCKL crown with their 40-37 victory over Marysville Thursday night.  Marysville entered the duel ranked #3 in Class 4A and the Bulldogs are defending 4A State Champions.  The Cowboys improved to 2-1 in the NCKL in duels.  Abilene lost to Concordia 33-32 to the Panthers last week and Concordia is currently 3-0 in the league.  If they go on to win it would be the first time someone other than Abilene or Marysville has won the league since 2011.  Abilene and Concordia have both Chapman and Clay Center remaining on their schedule.

In the duel on Thursday, Abilene got off to a quick start despite not having their top wrestler Will Stroda.  Stroda ranked #2 at 126 pounds was out due to illness.  The Cowboys got three consecutive pins to start the duel from Chris McClanahan, Cooper Wuthnow, and Kaleb Stroda to jump ahead 18-0.  The Cowboys would pick up a 9-1 victory from Braden Wilson at 132 pounds to increase their lead to 22-6.  The biggest victory though may have come in the ninth match of the night.  Junior, Trenton Wuthnow at 160 pounds pinned Sophomore Jacob Haefele 2:35 into the match.  Wuthnow entered the match with a 9-16 record while Haefele was 8-13.  Abilene picked up another pin from Colby Mohr at 182 pounds to go up 34-25.  The Bulldogs went ahead for the first time at 37-34 with a pin from Jack Lott against the Cowboy’s Brandon Parker.  Marysville was open at 285 which gave Abilene the win.

106  Abilene Chris McClanahan WBF 2:32 over Marysville Ian Dettimore

113 Abilene Cooper Wuthnow WBF 1:27 over Marysville Tristen Shaefer

120 Abilene Kaleb Stroda WBF 2:51 over Marysville Kai Barton

126 Marysville Isaac Novotony WBF 2:37 over Abilene Dayton Wuthnow

132 Abilene Braden Wilson Major Dec. 9-1 over Marysville Elise Rose

138 Marysville #3 Joey Bockin Major Dec. 12-2 over Abilene Javin Welsh

145 Marysville #2 Jonny Crome Dec. 4-1 over Abilene Jackson Randles

152 Marysville Keegan Caudillo WBF :28 over Abilene Aiden Henly

160 Abilene Trenton Wuthnow WBF 2:35 over Marysville Jacob Haefele

170 Marysville #1 Noah Ackerman WBF :31 over Abilene Luke Hager

182 Abilene Colby Mohr WBF 1:28 over Maryville Beau Wassenberg

195 Marysville #1 Garron Champoux won by forfeit Abilene OPEN

220  Marysville Jack Lott WBF 1:25 over Abilene Brandon Parker

285  Abilene Adam Heneley won by forfeit Marysville OPEN







H.S. Football Coach faci...
September 24, 2021Comments
Student dies form COVID-1...
September 22, 2021Comments
Parker Carousel
September 22, 2021Comments
Annual Tombstone Talks
September 22, 2021Comments


Read all tweets
© 2007 - 2021 - EEO  - KDJM  - KABI  - KSAL-AM  - KSAL-FM  - KVOB  - KYEZ  - KZUH